Soccer: Maradona’s Hand of God
The infamous “hand of god” incident occurred in a match between England and Argentina in the World Cup of 1986, for years after the two countries had clashed in the Falklands War. Emotions were high and there was no love lost between the two teams. Referees failed to spot that Diego Maradona scored the first goal of the match by striking it with his hand. Later in the match he would go on to dribble past five English players and kick the second goal of the match, which was later voted the goal of the century.
Aftermath: Argentina was not penalized for the handball goal and won the match 2-1 and went onto win the 1986 world cup. Maradona was on the field for every minute of every game. Maradona maintained that the goal was, “a little with the head of Maradona and a little with the hand of God” until a BBC interview in 2005.
Maradona’s later life has been plagued with health problems that likely stemmed from years of substance abuse and obesity. Following a massive heart attack in 2004, he stopped using cocaine, but had further problems due to alcohol. He attended a treatment center in 2007 and in 2008 became the coach of the Argentinian soccer team.